Being charged with a DWI or other misdemeanor crime in Texas can be a life-altering event. The personal and financial effects of a DWI, theft arrest or conviction can be devastating. Employers do criminal background checks and often will not employ someone charged with DWI or any theft offense. Our firm has the necessary experience in representing persons accused of DWI and other misdemeanor crimes to navigate the criminal justice system and eliminate or minimize these negative consequences.
Texas has some of the harshest penalties in the United States for DWI and misdemeanor crimes. Under the Texas Penal Code, a Class A misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of up to $4,000 and/or up to one year in jail; a Class B misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail; and a Class C misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of up to $500. If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you face stiff penalties—even for a first offense. Potential penalties include steep fines, loss of your driver’s license, $3,000 driver’s license reinstatement fee, jail time and probation.
You must act quickly to retain experienced counsel if you are stopped and arrested for DWI. Your driver’s license is automatically suspended for at least 90 days upon your arrest. You only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing before the Texas Department of Public Safety to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license. Our firm can assist you in obtaining an occupational license to drive if your license suspension cannot be reversed.
Our firm routinely handles defense of the following criminal charges in Montgomery and Harris County and the greater Houston area: